Newest Obsession: The “Parfait” Parfait

A recent Skinny & The City newsletter discussed what to eat after going to the gym.  It made a good point: you don’t want to undo all that hard work by eating the wrong things after going to the gym.  We of course all know this (in theory), but don’t always adhere to best practices.  Or maybe its just me? Before moving in with my boyfriend I went to the gym in the morning 3-4 times/week.  Now because of where we live, even though we technically live closer to the gym, it’s easier for me to go after work instead of at 6am.  Aaaand now I go twice a week.  In a good week.  This means if I go at night, I’m not snacking after the gym, I’m eating dinner.

I think I’m lucky in not being someone who’s really hungry after I go to the gym.  Maybe it’s all the water I drink.  By the time I get home I often don’t want to eat a big meal.  Good to know tip: It’s been said moderate exercise can help suppress one’s appetite.

My favorite after-gym (or weekend breakfast) meal is a fruit & yogurt parfait.  After trying a few different varieties of yogurt, fruit & granola, I like to think I have this down to a science.  A delicious science.

You need to try this, it’s easy.  Here’s how you do it:

Fresh strawberries & blueberries

1. Fresh fruit.  I prefer strawberries & blueberries.  I use 1/3 cup (roughly) of strawberries & 1/4 cup (roughly) of blueberries.

Calories in the strawberries: 15

Calories in blueberries: 20

Dannon Light & Fit Non-Fat Vanilla Yogurt

2. After trying different non-fat yogurt, I think this is best. I’m not a huge yogurt fan in general.  Growing up in upstate NY, Crowley was the only kind I liked.  Yoplait has a few good flavors & I tried Stoneyfield Farms Organic Vanilla Yogurt, but Dannon Light & Fit has my vote.  I add about a 1 – 1 1/2 cup of yogurt to my parfait meal.

Calories per cup of Dannon Light & Fit Vanilla Yogurt: 110

Pecan & Praline Granola from Trader Joe's

3. This Trader Joe’s granola is delicious.  It’s a happy medium between extremely “chunky” granola & granola that’s more like…well…oats.  I use roughly 1/2 cup in my parfait.

Calories in 1/2 cup granola: 110

With the fruit, 1/2 cup granola & 1 1/2 cup yogurt, this meal totals roughly 300 calories.  300 healthy, filling calories.  Not too shabby.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food for Thought

Leave a Reply

